Conservation areas in Bracknell Forest

Conservation areas are defined as 'areas of special architectural or historic interest, the character or appearance of which it is desirable to preserve or enhance'. The Borough of Bracknell Forest has five designated conservation areas.

Within a conservation area the council has extra controls over demolition, minor developments and works and the protection and maintenance of trees, within both public areas and private gardens. For further information you can use our enquiry form.


This conservation area mainly lies within a triangular area of land defined by Duke's Ride to the north, Waterloo Road to the south and the High Street to the east.

The appraisal report and maps are below:


Point Royal is in Easthampstead. This was the second neighbourhood to be built in accordance with the Bracknell Master Plan between 1958 and 1962, forming part of the original New Town.

The appraisal report and maps are below:


Church Lane, Warfield was the first conservation area to be designated in the borough. It mainly comprises the Church of St Michael the Archangel (a Grade II listed building) and the residences around it.

The appraisal report and maps are below:

Winkfield Row

This is the newest conservation area in the borough of Bracknell Forest. It was designated on 13 December 2005.

The appraisal report and maps are below:

Winkfield Village

The focus of Winkfield Village Conservation Area, which was designated on 8 December 1977, is Church Road, on which St Mary’s Church is situated. There are five listed buildings in the conservation area, and several other listed structures such as outbuildings, tombs and walls.

The appraisal report and a map are below:

Was this page useful?

Yes No

Thank you. You can provide further feedback on this page using our feedback form.