Skip to main content

There is currently an issue which means that some council tax direct debits will be taken out early. Find out more about the council tax issue.

Council staff and departments

Council staff

Whilst elected councillors provide the policies, paid employees (council officers) put them into practice.

The council employs over 4,000 staff. These include school teachers, social workers and staff responsible for a wide range of services.

Council departments

There are 5 council departments:

  • Delivery
  • People
  • Central directorates
    • Finance
    • Organisational Development, Transformation and HR
    • Place, Planning and Regeneration

Structure charts